Weekly Update 10/15/13 Progress along different lines

Following last weeks post about constantly play testing, I of course didn’t get any playtesting done. However I did make headway with the Elderhaven setting additionally I’ve been working on a module for Iron Kingdoms. So nothing to report on the progress of Elementary, but a little to report on the RPG setting.

Previously the Elder haven setting was primarily a nebulous concept that was interesting but very unformed. This week while I was working on an Iron Kingdoms module for and upcoming We ❤ Nerds podcast. I had some time to think about the direction I want to take with the setting.

I’ve settled on a cosmology that I like and feel creates an interesting world for the played. I know I want the world to be “Spell-punk”. A world where magic is treated like a science and it’s development is a driving force in the settings narrative. Additionally I want there to be many different type of magic and applications of magic, something that the cosmology facilitated. During a very early drive it occurred to me that a points of light approach to the world setting would fit really well and add a lot of interesting aspects to the game. I still don’t have mechanics to go along with the game yet, but I feel that getting the setting established is a bigger priority at this point.

Progression based on character actions rather than an experience total is a concept that Bonsai Games and I have talked about a little and one that I like the concept of, but I’m not sure if it’s the best mechanic for the setting.  I’ve also worked on a mechanic that allows the players to pick what they’re rolls do for them, but it’s a little to complicated as is.

I’ll have more info on the setting and Elementary next week. Thanks again for reading.

About Elderhaven

Elderhaven is a small game design studio.

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Elderhaven (Setting), Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

